Driving under the influence (DUI) is one of the most serious traffic offenses one can face in Maryland.  There are multiple sections of the Maryland Transportation Code that one can be charged under if stopped and suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol.  Depending on the results of the field sobriety test and if taken, the breath or blood test, the State may have multiple options when pursuing your case in Court.  Judges and State’s Attorneys are very aggressive when prosecuting a DUI case, don’t appear in Court without an experienced lawyer by your side.

Why you should speak with a DUI lawyer

The penalties and consequences are so severe that it’s imperative you speak with and hire a driving under the influence defense attorney if you’ve been charged in Maryland.  If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Maryland, you need an experienced attorney from the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, on your side.  With the experience and skilled attorney, you may be able to have your charges reduced or even dismissed.  To discuss your DUI charges and potential defenses, call attorney Randolph Rice at (410) 288-2900 or email him directly to schedule a free confidential consultation.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties in Maryland

§21-902(a)(1) – Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol

  • First DUI offense – Fine of not more than $1000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.
  • Second DUI offense – Fine of not more than $2000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.
  • Third or subsequent DUI offense – Fine of not more than $3000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both.

§21-902(a)(2) – Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol Per Se

  • First DUI offense – Fine of not more than $1000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.
  • Second DUI offense – Fine of not more than $2000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.
  • Third or subsequent DUI offense – Fine of not more than $3000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both.

§21-902(a)(3) – Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol While Transporting a Minor

  • First DUI offense – Fine of not more than $2000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.
  • Second DUI offense – Fine of not more than $3000, or imprisonment for not more than 3 years, or both
  • Third or subsequent DUI offense – Fine of not more than $4000, or imprisonment for not more than 4 years, or both.

What is the difference between Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and  Driving while impaired (DWI)?

Our DUI lawyer defends you.A driver may receive a driving under the influence (DUI) if he/she is operating a vehicle with a blood-alcohol content of .08 percent or above, regardless of whether his actual driving ability is impaired.

If you find yourself facing driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) charges, an experienced Maryland DUI lawyer can guide you through the intimidating legal process and launch an aggressive defense on your behalf.A driver may receive a driving under the influence (DUI) if he/she is operating a vehicle with a blood-alcohol content of .08 percent or above, regardless of whether his actual driving ability is impaired.

Call us now at 410.288.2900 to schedule a free consultation.

What is the best possible outcome for a DUI charge?

For a first offense driving under the influence (DUI), sometimes the best outcome is Probation Before Judgment or “PBJ“.   To accept a plea deal is a decision that must be made after careful consideration with your attorney and the pros and cons of trying the case before a Judge or Jury.  A PBJ is not a conviction, which means you will typically avoid jail time. This will also avoid a driving under the influence conviction on your driving record, which means no points on your driving record and you may avoid higher insurance rates.

View Randolph speak on DUI’s and DWI’s