DUI / DWI
Blog: Second Degree Assault Maryland - Maryland Assault Defense Lawyer G. Randolph Rice, Jr.
By: G. Randolph Rice, Jr. on April 17
DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED ("DWI") IN MARYLAND
What is the difference between DUI and DWI?
A DUI stands for "Driving While Impaird by Alcohol" and DWI stands for "Driving While Impaired by Alcohol" in Maryland. The difference between DUI and DWI in Maryland is differentiated by level of intoxication. If a driver takes a breath or blood test then the difference is a little clearer.
If a driver has a Blood Alcohol Content ("BAC") of .08 or more, then the law defines that person as DUI. If the BAC level is .07 or less then it can be argued that the person is DWI or not impaired by alcohol at all.
If the driver does not take a breath or blood test, then the behaviors of the driver observed by the police officer and performance on the Field Sobriety Tests (FST) can show the level of impairement and this may determine if it is a DUI or DWI.
What is the best possible outcome for a DWI charge?
The best outcome for any DWI in Maryland is a not guilty, dismissal or nolle prosequi. That means the driver is not convicted of DWI and does not receive points on their MVA driving record.
First Offense DWI in Maryland
First offense DWI charges can be scary and lead to hours of lost sleep and constant worry. The maximum penalty for a first offense DWI in Maryland is 60 days in jail and/or a $500 fine.
Visit our DUI / DWI FAQ by clicking below.
View Randolph speak on DUI's and DWI's