Driving while your privilege is revoked in Maryland is a “must appear” offense and requires an appearance in Court if charged.  Don’t go to Court alone, hire an attorney that has experience defending revoked license cases in Maryland District and Circuit Courts.

Contact Attorney Randolph Rice, owner and founder of the Law Offices of G. Randolph Rice, Jr., LLC, at (410) 288-2900 or email the office for immediate help with your revoked license charges.

Revoked License in Maryland

What is a driving while privilege is revoked in Maryland or driving on a revoked license in Maryland?

Driving on on a revoked license or driving while privilege is revoked is a violation of the Maryland Transportation Article.  The type of charges you face will depends on what type of license is revoked.  If you privilege is revoked in Maryland, you will be charged with §16-303(d) Driving while privilege is revoked.  If you driving privilege is revoked in a State other than Maryland, then you will be charged with §16-303(g) Driving while privilege is revoked by other States.

What is the Penalty for Driving on a Revoked License in Maryland?

§16-303(d) Driving while privilege is revoked

  • First offense – Fine of not more than $1000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.
  • Second of subsequent offense – Fine of not more than $1000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.

§16-303(g) Driving while privilege is revoked by other states

  • First offense – Fine of not more than $1000, or imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.
  • Second of subsequent offense – Fine of not more than $1000, or imprisonment for not more than 2 years, or both.

What are some defenses to driving on a revoked license?

There are a number of defenses that can be argued before a Judge or jury, such as:

  • I didn’t know my license was revoked;
  • The revocation had ended and I was no longer revoked;
  • I was not revoked in another State;
  • Contact a lawyer for additional defenses.

Do I have a right to a jury trial if charged with Driving on a Revoked License?

Yes, since the maximum penalty is greater than 90 days, you have a right to a jury trial for driving on a revoked license in Maryland.

What should I do if I have been charged with driving on a revoked license in Maryland?

You should contact attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 and schedule a free consultation to discuss your case and best possible options.

If I receive a guilty, how many points will I receive for driving on a revoked license in Maryland?

If you receive a “Guilty” then you will receive the following points on your Maryland driving record:

  • §16-303(d) Driving while privilege is revoked – 12 MVA points
  • §16-303(g) Driving while privilege is revoked – 12 MVA points

If you received a PBJ, Probation before Judgment, then you will not received points on your driving record in Maryland.

Call Maryland traffic ticket attorney Randolph Rice at 410-288-2900 to schedule a free consultation and discuss the best possible options for your driving on a revoked license charges.